arrow drop search cross

La Chapelle Sainte-Béatrix

La Chapelle Sainte-Béatrix

Address

Combe Noire

Quartier des Bessieux

26730 EYMEUX

Contact

Languages spoken

  • French

Description

Perhaps erected on the site of a former Priory founded by Blessed Beatrix d'Ornacieux in the 14th century, Chapelle Sainte-Béatrix is in the Neo-Romanesque style and was completed in 1897.

It stands on a belvedere overlooking the Isère and the ancient port of Ouvey, on the Ecancière side (Hameau d'Eymeux).
It is honored every 1st Sunday in September during a pilgrimage.
Interior access reserved for worship.
Located in the Bessieux district, it hides in the trees of Mont Saint-Martin. From the promontory overlooking the Isère, the panorama stretches as far as Romans. Its history and construction are closely linked to the cult of Saint Beatrix d'Ornacieux, a young Carthusian nun from the Parménie monastery who came to Eymeux in 1300 to found a new monastery with two companions.
In 1303, the nuns died and the local people began to devote a popular cult to Béatrix. She was beatified in 1869.
The chapel, built in 1897, became a place of pilgrimage, still alive today, on the first Sunday in September.

Tips

Pèlerinage (1er dimanche de septembre).

Opening periods

All year round daily.

See also

no pic

Eymeux

Cultural heritage

Eymeux